KPF Traveling Fellowship

Each year, Kohn Pedersen Fox presents three $10,000 awards to students who are in their penultimate year at one of the twenty-seven design schools with whom KPF has chosen to partner.

The goal of the award is to allow students to broaden their education through a summer of travel and exploration before their final year at school.

2018 submission


The three winners of the 2018 Kohn Pedersen Fox Traveling Fellowship were selected by jury on April 26 at the firm's New York office. 

The winners are Eric J Hsu of Rice University, Mackenzie Muhonen of MIT, and Eduardo Martinez-Mediero Rubio of Harvard GSD. Each will be awarded $8,000 to fund summer travel and an additional $2,000 after turning in a report about their experience.

The jury comprised Andrea Simitch, Chair of the Department of Architecture at Cornell; Kiel Moe, Associate Professor of Architecture and Energy at Harvard GSD; Inaqui Carnicero of Columbia University GSAPP and Rica Studio; and Hana Kassem and Rob Whitlock, Principals at KPF.

Submission Requirements

  1. A portfolio of fifteen one-sided pages at 11” x 17” or smaller, in a binding.
  2. All work should be executed by the student alone. No work executed in an office—unless it has been designed and drawn solely by the student—should be included.
  3. The first page will be a one sided 8 ½” x 11”sheet with the applicant’s name, address, e-mail address, telephone number, school attending, signature of the dean, and signature of the applicant indicating permission for display/publication of portfolio and subsequent travel report images on the KPF Website. This page should contain a statement of the student’s travel itinerary and the rationale for these travel plans. It should be easily detachable and should be the only page with any personal or identifiable information about the applicant.

2018 winners

2017 winners

2015 winners

2013 winners

2014 winners

Erioseto Hendraneta
Stefan Laxness
Loren Yu

Joanie Tom
Lily C Wong
Kevin Murray
Huang Yijie Tongji

2012 winners

J Arthur Liu
Madeleine Kessler
Michael J Smith

2010 winners

Jian Ming Huang
Leticia Woulk Almino
Mark E Lewis
Thomas Buck Sleeper

2011 winners

Mathew Clarke
Perkinson Igraine
Kai Franz